I took a walk – 2oct21014

I took a walk,
the house was chilly.
the sun was bright.

Beside the pond a child laughed
at falling leaves.
Squirrels gathered acorns up
and mushrooms grew with upturned cups

I took a detour through the woods.
Hidden in the underbrush,
I saw a tree house – not in a tree –
but up on stilts
a ramp up to the open door.
I peaked inside – no one was there.

I saw wild flowers thick with bees.
Heard the scrunch of fallen leaves,
Saw skulking cats that slipped away
as I came near.
I took a walk this autumn day.

This entry was posted in *, I took a walk... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

comment

