…along the river

I took a walk today
traffic was heavy on the road
so took the path along the river
It’s damp and dim and quiet there.
I smelled a skunk and saw a floating fish and
a soda bottle filled with yellow fluid.

I wonder who roams these woods at night?
I hear owls sometimes and sometimes wild cries
and gun shots. But not like in the movies-
they sound real.
I walk behind the pizza place and smell the garlic.
I feel safe. There are no vampires here.

It’s damp and dim and quiet here.
Once I saw an eagle.

This entry was posted in *, otherwheres and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

comment

