14th & Ave. B – thurs 2Jan2013

It was too cold to walk today, so I decided on a Museum and picked MOMA because I hadn’t been there for several years. From the sound of the chattering in the ticket line, everyone was a tourist from somewhere in Europe. The premier exhibit was:
René François Ghislain Magritte ,a Belgian surrealist artist known for a number of witty and thought-provoking images that fall under the umbrella of surrealism [from review]
I knew his work only from a few images in anthologies. One of the surprising outcomes from ModPo, the poetry course I just finished is a greater appreciation for modern visual art. The course taught me to see more carefully . Magritte’s work requires that: mixed body parts, reflections that are not, etc. I spent time looking carefully at about 2/3 of the exhibit and when I felt that my concentration was fading, I left – which is what I prefer in any museum – better to carefully see a few things than merely glancing at many.

I stopped at the grocery store on the way back, and there were lots of people stocking up because there is a snow storm in the forecast for tonight.

This entry was posted in Xcetera and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.