cat sitting – day 1

It’s 8 p.m. and I’m sitting here being alternately ignored or stared at by 3 cats- one very old orange cat and two young grey tabbies.
I got here about 1:15, and I was going to explore the neighborhood, but it was too hot and I was too tired. (I had gotten up at 3:30 a.m. to take the train w/my daughter-in-law from Martinsburg WV to Union Station in DC – she to go to work and me to catch the Amtrak to NY. I was sitting their dog this past week.)

I thought I’d spend today just settling in. I made a quick trip to the “gourmet Market” (more a convenience store than grocery store) for some basics – eggs. cereal, milk, cheese and tea, and had an early dinner at La Libertad, a very good Salvadoran restaurant in the neighborhood.

I did my first round of cat care around 7:00. The old cat needed persuasion to take his meds. Reminds me of child care. Actually not – cats protest silently. The younger cats are eager eaters and no problem at all.
From the living room window,I can see the Hudson River, a lovely shade of blue grey in the evening twilight.

This entry was posted in Xcetera and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

comment

