wm.carlos.williams – red wheel barrow

In my attempt to learn how to write poetry, I’m working my way through A Poetry Handbook by Mary Oliver. In her chapter on free verse,she discusses Williams The Red Wheel Barrow . When I first read this in a long ago English class, I dismissed it as silly (I was young). This time I marvel at it. It seems simple but it is not. I’ve been trying for the past week to write a poem that maintains the structure of this poem and mirrors it word for word – part of speech, syllables, stresses – and haven’t been able to. Here are a few tries. [rwb – structure]
(1)
So much depends
upon
a whole wheat
donut
wrapped in wax
paper
beside the lunch
counter.
(2)
So much depends
upon
a brass tea
kettle
scoured with soap
powder
inside the white
kitchen

This entry was posted in *, wcw / red wheel barrow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

comment

